About Us

Our Mission

First Nations Oweesta Corporation supports economic growth in Native American communities through the creation, development and capitalization of Community Development Financial Institutions.

Our Strategy

Native community development financial institutions directly provide Native American communities the tools and capital support required for real and sustainable job creation, small business development, commercial real estate development, affordable housing/home ownership while also offering basic banking services and financial literacy training to “underbanked” Native American communities who have been historically targeted by predatory lending practices.

Our Values

We Believe that When Armed with the Appropriate Resources, Native Peoples Hold the Capacity and Ingenuity to Ensure the Sustainable, Economic, Spiritual and Cultural Well-Being of Their Communities.”

About Oweesta

Our Staff

EXECUTIVE STAFF
 

CORNELIUS, Chrystel (Oneida/Chippewa)
Executive Director
chrystel@oweesta.org

ARAGON, Evette (Cherokee/Iroquoian)
Administrative Office Manager
evette@oweesta.org

  
PROGRAM DEPARTMENT
  

LANGHOLZ, Krystal
Director of Programs
krystal@oweesta.org

HANSEN, Chris (Chippewa)
Training Coordinator
chris@oweesta.org

  

BIAS, Kristi - Oklahoma
Senior Advisor for Programs & Development
kristi@oweesta.org

 
  
COMMUNICATIONS 
  

FISHINGHAWK, Stephanie (Odawa/Potawatomie)
Communications Manager
stephanie@oweesta.org

 
  
LENDING AND COMPLIANCE
  

TRUMP, Emily
Lending and Compliance Manager
emily@oweesta.org



 
  
ACCOUNTING AND FINANCE
  

CRISTIANO, Thomas
Chief Financial Officer
thomas@oweesta.org

 

POWERS, Debbie
Staff Accountant
debbie@oweesta.org
 

 

 
General Information and Administrationinfo@oweesta.org

 

 

Our Directors

First Nations Oweesta Board of Directors
First Nations Oweesta has a nine-member Board of Directors, all of whom are Native American. The board consists of a diverse representation of Indian Country, including different tribes, geographic areas, community and Native leaders, and business and professional representatives. Oweesta does not have an advisory board, but has advisory committees with board participation that provide input on different programs. The board recommends and appoints new members. The executive committee consists of the chairman, president, treasurer, secretary and heads of the various committees.
 


Michael E. Roberts
President

Tom Vigil
Chairman

Marguerite Smith
Vice Chair

Shyla Sheppard
Secretary

Donald Sampson
Treasurer

Chandra Hampson

Gelvin Stevenson

Benny Shendo, Jr.

 

 Susan Jenkins

 


 

 

 

 

Contact Us

 

Main Office and Mailing Address:
2432 Main Street, 2nd Floor
Longmont, CO  80501
(303) 774-8838 Phone
(303) 774-7841 Fax
www.oweesta.org Website
info@oweesta.org Email

To contact specific departments, please
visit the Our Staff page.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ Oweesta

FAQ Native CDFIs

FAQ BNC Curriculum

About Us       Our Services       Our Supporters       Knowledge Center       Our Publications       Native Convening
|     Privacy Policy    |     Terms of Use    |     Sitemap     |    Login